Journal of Food Legumes

The Indian Society of Pulses Research and Development (ISPRD) has been publishing its official periodical continuously since 1987. The journal was published up to 2007 in the name of Indian Journal of Pulses Research. Later, it was renamed in 2008; since then, it has been published as Journal of Food Legumes quarterly.

Journal of Food Legumes publishes articles in all the disciplines (Breeding, Genetics, Biotechnology, Biochemistry, Physiology, Agronomy, Soil Science, Economics, Extension Education, Statistics and Computer Application, Agricultural Engineering and Post Harvest Technology, etc.) of food legumes (including arid legumes). It is a peer reviewed Journal receiving articles from national and international organizations. It has more than 100 national and foreign subscribers. It has well-structured editorial board.

The contribution to the Journal, except in case of invited articles, is open to the members of the Society only. Any non-member submitting a manuscript will be required to become at least annual member. Members will be entitled to receive the Journal and other communications issued by the Society from time to time.

Executive Council of ISPRD – 2020-2023:

Position Name Address

Chief Patron

Dr. Trilochan Mahapatra

ICAR, Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi - 110014


Dr. T.R. Sharma

ICAR, Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi - 110014


Dr. N.P. Singh

ICAR-IIPR, Kanpur - 208024


Dr. I.P. Singh

ICAR-IIPR, Kanpur - 208024

Vice President

Dr. Rajeev Varshney

ICRISAT, Hyderabad


Dr. Aditya Pratap

ICAR-IIPR, Kanpur - 208024

Joint Secretary

Dr. C.S. Praharaj

ICAR-IIPR, Kanpur - 208024


Dr. Devraj Mishra

ICAR-IIPR, Kanpur - 208024


Zone I

Dr. Ravinder Singh, PAU, Ludhiana

Zone II

Dr. C. Bharadwaj, IARI, New Delhi

Zone IV

Dr SS Punia College of Agriculture, Bharatpur, Rajasthan

Zone V

Dr RP Singh RAK College, Sehore

Zone VI

Dr Mudalagiriyappa  UAS GKVK, Begaluru


Dr AK Srivastava ICAR-IIPR, Kanpur- 208024

Editorial Board:

S.No. Name of Editor Email Address Broad subject area
1. Meenal Rathore
(Editor in Chief) Division of Plant Biotechnology
ICAR-Indian Institute of Pulses Research, Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh, India
2. Prof SK Sharma   Honorary Professor &
Former Vice-Chancellor
HP Agricultural University, Palampur
Genetic improvement
3. Pooran Gaur  International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT), Hyderabad Genetic improvement
4. Nguyen, Henry T.   Division of Plant Sciences, College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources, University of Missouri, Columbia, MO 65211, USA Molecular Biology
5. Suk-Ha Lee   College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Seoul National University
Seoul 151-921, Korea
Molecular Biology
6. Kadambot Siddique The University of Western Australia (M082), 35, Stirling Highway,
6009 Perth, Australia
Crop Production
7 Shiv Kumar Agrawal Lentil Breeder and Food Legumes Coordinator, ICARDA/Rabat Office
PO box 6299, Rabat-Institute
Rabat 10112, Morocco
Genetic Improvement
 8.  Ramakrishnan Madhavan Nair   World Vegetable Center
South Asia/Central Asia
ICRISAT Campus, Patancheru 502 324, Hyderabad, Telangana, India
 Genetic improvement
9. Sushil Chaturvedi College of Agriculture
Rani Lakshmi Bai Central Agricultural University, Jhansi (Uttar Pradesh)
Genetic Improvement
10. A.R. Sharma RLB Central Agricultural University
Jhansi - Gwalior Road, Jhansi 284 002, Uttar Pradesh
Crop Production
11. Jayamani Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, Coimbatore Genetic improvement
12. Jitendra Kumar Crop Improvement Division,
ICAR-IIPR, Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh, India
Genetic improvement
13. Dinesh Yadav; Department of Biotechnology,
D.D.U Gorakhpur University
Gorakhpur-273009 (Uttar Pradesh) (INDIA)
14. Harsh Nayyar Panjab University, Chandigarh Plant Physiology
15. Harsh K. Dikshit Division of Genetics,
ICAR-Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi 110012, India
Genetic improvement
16. A. Amarender Reddy ICAR-Centre Research Institute for Dryland Agriculture 
Santoshnagar, Hyderabad
Agricultural Economics
17. Uma Sah ICAR - Indian Institute of Pulses Research, Kanpur-208024
Uttar Pradesh, India
18. Gaurav Kumar Taggar PAU, Ludhiana Entomology
19. Narendra Kumar;
ICAR-Indian Institute of Pulses Research, Kanpur- 208 024, India Crop Production
20. Prasoon Verma;   Scientist-SG (Agricultural Structures & Process Engineering), 
Division of Crop Production,
ICAR-Indian Institute of Pulses Research, Kanpur - 208 024, India
Agricultural Engineering
21. Senthil Kumar Division of Basic Sciences
Indian Institute of Pulses Research
Kanpur – 208 024,India